Written by Emma Vetriano • Published 15th December 2011
It has been a year of many changes, what with the new iPhone 4s, the new Twitter and now the new Facebook Timeline. Many of you may have noticed a significant change to your profile, if not you will do in the next couple of days and it will look like this:
I wrote previously about what this means for brands and their fanpages. However, this left one question unanswered…what does it mean for our personal profiles?
My profile settings changed this week, meaning I’ve had the chance to test-drive it for myself. Now, the appearance has changed dramatically, as has the content. Your friends are now able to view your entire Facebook history with a click of a button.
At first, this may seem as if it’s venturing into ‘stalker’ territory. But there are ways to control the content shown on your profile and subsequently what others view. Below are a couple of tips on how to keep your privacy in check:
Hide from timeline: You are able to view all content you have ever posted, which in some cases (and definitely in mine) this can be quite embarrassing. As demonstrated in the picture below you can hide this activity from your timeline, so nobody will have to see your cringe-worthy holiday videos.
Control App Privacy: The new Facebook design enables friends to see what you read and look at. You can alter this quite easily; when installing an app you can customise whom your activity is visible to. There is even an ‘only me’ option in custom, meaning it can remain completely private if you wish.
Let us know what you think of the new design, love or loathe?